Hello. I'm new to Flyte, trying to test setup on l...
# flytekit
p
Hello. I'm new to Flyte, trying to test setup on local sandbox before attempting AWS deploy. Running WSL2 Ubuntu on Windows with Docker Desktop to produce a localhost remote cluster. What I don't quite understand is how files are stored. e.g. running this within a workflow:
Copy code
# write to local path
out_path =  flytekit.current_context().working_directory
with open(os.path.join(out_path, 'test2.txt'), 'w') as f:
    f.write('blah')
        pth = f.name
return pth
If i run this locally (in Windows terminal) I get something like:
C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\Temp\flytel123\user_space123\test2.txt
If I run with --remote I get e.g.
/tmp/flyte-jp9gzohn/sandbox/local_flytekit/4bae375f282029a45f14f397429df2ff/test2.txt
I'd like to set up to use a folder (e.g. C:\Users\<user>\projectA\data and C:\Users\<user>\projectA\output) and run locally and then with --remote on the WSL2 hosted flytectl. Eventually will move to S3 but useful to have the local option for testing. C: is available in wsl under \mnt\c Ideas? Help?
k
hi @Peter Davidson firstly warmest welcome to the community. Thank you for joining
when running locally, files are stored in a temp directory.
but i dont quite understand the question, maybe a little more of a working example can help
p
Running the code, localy from windows returns:
C:\Users\<user>\test.txt
Running it --remote in the sandbox returns:
"\wsl.localhost\docker-desktop-data\data\docker\volumes\aeb5ab0e1bf3f4e829dc928ef3e407044f1b11ab1978dbcda4689a2bcacae606_data\overlay2\6b40fb222b5a39e3c0e167965f289f398522078b4374c427d5b271b2493426f0\diff\root\test.txt"
The remote path is not very useful. How do you direct the output of flyte to a specific folder? Is this a flyteconfig setting or should I uzse FlyteFile or? Similarly, I would like to be able to point it to input files. --- Code:
Copy code
import os
import flytekit
from flytekit import task, workflow

@task