I have two questions: 1. How can I monitor the std...
# ask-the-community
r
I have two questions: 1. How can I monitor the std out and std err while the task is running ? 2. Does
pyflyte register
not use the docker image when its packaging the workflow. We have some custom dependencies for the workflow to execute that aren’t present in the development environment.
f
regarding viewing the logs: you need to write the logs to a provider (i.e. from your cloud provider or something separate), then you can configure links to view the logs: https://docs.flyte.org/projects/cookbook/en/latest/auto/deployment/configure_logging_links.html I e.g. have Grafana Loki set up and can then view live logs via that link
could also be a link to kubernetes dashboard if you don't need persistence
r
Well my hope was to stream the stdout / stderr out eventually
I can probably find a way to jerry-rig stuff but I was hoping that I wouldn’t have to figure out some of these pieces (I’m still new to Kubernates)
f
stream to where? I assume you want to see this live from tasks executed in a remote kubernetes cluster?
r
@Felix Ruess you got it right ! I wanted to watch the stdout / stderr live. Logs are fine for now (I’ll look at how to set it up). But I’d eventually want to be able to see the stdout live on the dashboard itself
f
yeah, so for me the simplest was to deploy a kubernetes dashboard and configure the link to it, so you can just click on it in the flyte console... But that only works until the pod is deleted... if you want to view logs of pods that were already cleaned up, you need something else to persist the logs... I like Grafana/Loki... Where are you running your cluster? managed in AWS or so, or locally?
r
I’ve streamed out the std out from processes onto dashboards before, I’m just trying to make flyte become the manager for running the processes
Right now locally, I’ll be moving it to AWS soon
Well as soon as I get it working 😄
f