Hi I'm trying to write a workflow that takes in vi...
# ask-the-community
p
Hi I'm trying to write a workflow that takes in video as input and simply writes it. Input can either be in uri variable which is a downloadable link to video or it can be in data which is base64 string It is known that if input is an uri then value of data is going to be 1. Thus I check if value of data is 1 and if it is then call download task which downloads video from uri and saves content in data. This data is then passed to write_video task I'm new to flyte and this code is what I have so far.
Copy code
from typing import List
from flytekit import task, workflow, conditional
import base64
import requests
import cv2

@task
def _is_base64(data:bytes) -> bool:
    try:
        return base64.b64encode(base64.b64decode(data)) == data
    except Exception:
        return False

@task
def download(uri:str) -> bytes:
    #code to download from url
    return data

@task
def write_video(data:bytes) -> None:
    if _is_base64(data=data):
        data = base64.b64decode(data)
    with open("input.mp4", "wb") as out_file:
        out_file.write(data)

@workflow
def wf(data:str, uri:str, job_id:str) -> None:
    write_video(data=conditional("input").if_(data == "1").then(download(uri=uri)).else_().then(data))
however I am running into errors and would really appreciate some help.
One clear issue is the way I am handling bytes type. what is the correct way of doing that?
s
Hi @Pulkit Mishra!
bytes
isn’t a native Flyte type, and hence, it gets pickled automatically. That should work. But the recommended way of usage is to either send bytes as string or handle bytes conversion using a custom TypeTransformer. If the bytes string is large, you can also store that in a file and return that as a FlyteFile.
p