Hi, can somebody help me to understand FlyteFile a...
# ask-the-community
d
Hi, can somebody help me to understand FlyteFile and FlyteDirectory concepts? I have a dataset of images on the host machine, where demo cluster is deployed. Is there a recommended way how to access this dataset? For now I see only one solution, which us upload the dataset somewhere and then download by a flyte task and put in a FlyteDirectory. But maybe there is a better way?
but also, FlyteFile and FlyteDirectory are just abstracted references to data
d
I’m very new to flyte so might be didn’t understand everything. But as I understood, flyte uses s3 and downloads FlyteDirectory in every task. So it doesn’t matter if I use FlyteDirectly directly or upload my dataset to s3 by hand and by hand download it in the task?
s
@Denis Shvetsov flytefile and flytedirectory are abstractions. it handles automatic upload and download as it seamlessly interacts with the specified blob storage, be it s3 or gcs or abs. they use fsspec under the hood. you can also manually upload and download the data, but the whole point of annotating the parameter with flytefile/flytedirectory is to avoid doing it manually! 🙂
d
So is there any recommended way how to do it?
Also I’m trying to put a folder with size 2.5 GB and 4400 images to FlyteDirectory, I don’t know where to see the logs of the task. Found only this
Copy code
Attempt 01
Failed
tar: Removing leading `/' from member names

Getting <s3://my-s3-bucket/flytesnacks/development/IY5ZQHNFDBKVZ26NLZGB43DTLM======/script_mode.tar.gz> to /root/
Can it be because of the size? When I try to save smaller dataset it works fine
s
oh, that could be the reason. have you checked the kubernetes logs?
the option to view pod logs should be available on the UI.
@Pryce since you've been pursuing this as well, thought you might want to chime in in case you have an answer.
d
Could you tell me where I can obtain the token for kubernetes dashboard? if I started flyte with