Hi, I am very new to the Flyte and trying to learn...
# ask-the-community
p
Hi, I am very new to the Flyte and trying to learn how flyte compiles its workflow and there’s a cli: pyflyte serialize, but I would not get it work with an example project, created via pyflyte init. It will be great if anyone can share some insights. Here is my question in the SO: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/76298549/how-to-run-pyflyte-serialize-workflows
e
Hi Ping! If you want to get workflows running on Flyte, I would recommend. using the following commands instead of seralize. This work for a single file
Copy code
# run locally
pyflyte --config ~/.flyte/config.yaml run ./workflows/example.py wf

# run remote
pyflyte --config ~/.flyte/config.yaml run -i [image] /workflows/example.py wf
This works for an entire python module. Flyte will serialize tasks, package your entire module, and send code to Flyte.
Copy code
# register
pyflyte --config ~/.flyte/config.yaml register -i [image] /workflows/example.py wf
^ Kick off from the UI or use flyte remote If you are using the demo cluster.... Also, the demo cluster sets ups a container registry at
localhost:3000
. You can use new images with the following commands:
Copy code
docker build -t localhost:30000/imagname:tag
docker push localhost:30000/imagname:tag
p
Thanks a lot @Evan Sadler I am wondering if I use pyflyte run, where can I see the serialized task/workflow?
e
I am not 100% sure, but I am pretty sure pyflyte automatically saves them to a local directory. You might be able to inspect the local dir? Pyflyte manages sending the serialized tasks / workflows to a flyte cluster, which I imagine is the demo cluster in your case?
Copy code
flytectl demo start
I usually skip looking at the serialized workflows since running workflows locally doesn't require serialization and pyflyte manages pushing workflows / code to flyte cluster for you.. If the
pyflyte run --remote